Homemade Sloppy Joes

This is another family favorite and super easy to make…and quick!

This recipe is from the Heinz Co. but I modified it and changed and added ingredients.

Homemade Sloppy Joes

1 tablespoon shortening
1 LB ground turkey
2/3 cup onion, chopped finely
1/8 teaspoon pepper
2 teaspoons garlic powder
1 tablespoon flour
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
3/4 cup ketchup
1 cup water (I put a little water of the 1/4 cup in at a time
until I have the thickness I want–I do not use all of the water).
1/2 cup finely chopped green or red bell pepper (optional)

10 hamburger buns, heated or toasted.

I double the recipe for my family. It also makes great leftovers for lunches.

Directions

Melt shortening in skillet; add meat and next 4 ingredients; cook until meat loses the red color, stirring occasionally. Drain off the grease using a colander. Return meat to pan and stir in water, Worcestershire sauce and ketchup; allow to simmer and stir occasionally for 15 to 20 minutes or until you have reached the desired thickness.

*This takes between 25-35 minutes to prep and cook.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Sloppy Joes

Leave a comment